4th Full: Beitou 7-Hour Ultra Marathon (DNF after 4:30)

This course was just one big hill! About 1.8k down and then up again… over 5.4% ave. incline! To make matters worse, it was blistering hot from about the second hour.

I was running with George, a student from Gambia and he said that he was just going to do 12 laps – a marathon and the requirement for finishing and getting a certificate. At the time, I was still intending on continuing. But when I finished lap 12 with George, the officials at the top said, “Well done! You’re finished!” I was like… “Huh.. isn’t this a 7-hour race?”. They said that once you’d finished the marathon you were done but could continue “if you want to”.

That was it for me! It got my food pack and stripped down for a shower. A well-organised race but definitely tough. It’s been good endurance training working up to this and I think I want to do it again next year to see if I can run further.

Now I’ve got speed training coming up to prepare for some shorter races in September.

Posted in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

